RSS Feed

A Room for Baby George

Posted on

My sister, who was, perhaps, temporarily insane due to pregnancy, agreed to let me decorate her new baby’s nursery.  Baby George has now moved into his new digs after spending the first few months of his life in a bassinet in his parents room, so I figured now is a good time to share some pictures of what I did in his room.

The walls in the room were grey to begin with, so I chose a blue/turquoise-ish and cherry red palette for the items I made for the room.  The first thing you notice when you come in the room are the two big trees that my husband cut out from a sheet of plywood and painted white.  They stand out about 1″ from the wall and the branches can be used to hang clothes or cute things.  One tree has a hole cut out in the middle so I sewed a little owl to hang out in it.I made a quilted shade for the window, both for warmth during cold nights and to keep out the light from the street.  Beneath the window I made a series of 3 Kidlet bags from the pattern on JCasa handmade (such cool bags she dreamt up, I really should have them all over my house. hmmm.)  They didn’t turn out as nice and stiff as hers because I was to lazy to venture out and get the right type of interfacing, but they still work well for stowing little trinkets like stuffed animals and other teeny tiny baby things.

George is the 3rd boy in my sister’s family, so I went with a 3 theme in the room.  The #3 pot on the above shelf and the big metal number 3 are from Anthropologie.  In the frame is a picture of the two older boys standing by my sister’s very pregnant belly, on the right side of the frame there is space to put a picture of the 3 boys including George outside of the womb.  Between the two pictures I have the lyrics to “3 is a Magic Number”.

My favorite part of the room is this bird mobile above the crib.  I made the birds from this pattern from Spool.  It took some balancing and planning by my engineer husband to get it to hang right, but now it twirls in the air perfectly.  Hanging below the mobile is an old slide frame with words from a Bruce Springsteen song (“sleep tight, my child, sleep well for I’ll be at your side, that no shadow, no darkness, no tolling bell, shall pierce your dreams tonight” from Jesus Was an Only Son).  I love using old slide frames for things.  Mental note: future post on the myriad ways to use slide frames. To the left of the birds are a series of embroidery hoops that I picked up at St. Vinnys and put fun fabrics in.

With that project finished I am on to plotting a shower for my pregnant friend which involves making lots and lots of things for the new baby’s room.  Is there anything more fun than dreaming up cute baby room ideas?

One response »

  1. I adore the bird mobile. Mad bird mobile coveting here.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

