RSS Feed

Copasetic Consignments

Posted on

My sister-in-law in Champaign is realizing her dream of opening a funky furniture consignment/fun art shop.  She found a fabulous space on University Ave in Champaign and will be opening up shop in June.  I am hoping her new store, Copasetic Consignments will be a great success (how cool for someone to be able to do what they’ve been hoping to do for years and years).  In that light, I have two questions for you, dear readers.

1. What pulls you into a store?  If you are just walking around a cute downtown area, what is it in a store window that makes you have to go inside?

2. My sister-in-law was kind enough to ask me to make some things to sell in her store.  What type of home decor things should I make?

I would love to hear loads of responses to these questions, so if you haven’t commented before let this be your formal invitation!!

The photos are of her empty store space, taken before she moved anything in.  The words are part of an art campaign called Sight Specific Storefront Displays by 40 North | 88 West.  The artist is Katie Latona, an MFA candidate in the Painting program at the University of Illinois.  I think it is quite the cool idea, and I love the fitting quotes, especially the one below since it applies so well to my sister-in-law’s situation, she has indeed been asking to do this for years! (In case you can’t read backwards, it says “to ask for a thing until you get it”… the words were on the window and I took the photo from the inside of the store.)


2 responses »

  1. Bethney Pickhardt

    Intriguing furniture draws me into a store – a piece that is a little out of the ordinary. Not too clutter-y. There is an upholestery shop I drive by and they display just one of their pieces and I’m always wanting to stop in. But maybe that is just me, because a very popular store nearby has a window full of fantastically fun furniture and accessories. The most important thing, I think,is to change it up every 3-4 weeks. Wish I could be there Lisa!

    Reply
  2. For me it’d be a combination of interesting furniture and smaller, colorful things. Anything you make would be awesome. What do you enjoying sewing the most? Maybe do a little of everything so you don’t get bored.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

