RSS Feed

One of these days I’ll knit for my kid, too

Posted on

I love to knit for other people.  Or, more accurately, other people’s babies, as they are small and the knitting goes faster.  I generally only finish knitting projects when there is a deadline, so baby showers are the perfect excuse to start (and hopefully finish) something new.  But no matter how far in advance I begin, I am *always* knitting frantically in the days before the shower, weaving in ends 2 nights before, and praying to the yarn gods that the washed and blocked garment will be dry in time to wrap.  I procrastinate.  I know this about myself.  Thank goodness for deadlines or I’d never finish anything at all.

I knit this dress for my cousin’s future little one and she opened it at her shower today, so I can finally show it to you.  (Finally, because it was done a whole 24 hours ago and I had to wait to post to avoid spoiling the surprise.  😉 )

The pattern, Little Sister’s Dress, was free on Ravelry and it was easy to knit (raveled here).  I was even brave enough to finish the neck edge with a row of crochet as directed.  I don’t crochet, so attempting this last night (um, yes, after I’d already washed and blocked the dress), was a bit risky.

I found buttons from the stash my Grandmother gave me when she jettisoned many of her sewing supplies.  I thought they were a nice final touch, as the dress is for her great grand-daughter.

Whenever I finish a baby shower gift, I’m relieved I finished in time, and energized to plan a sweater for Tea.  I’ve yet to knit him anything more substantial than a hat.  But then ambition fades and Tea grows, and I think, “but now I’d have to knit a 4T if he’s going to be able to wear it for any length of time after it’s done”.  I look at the yarn requirements for that size, I hesitate, and he grows again.  Sigh.  Maybe I should just start knitting for his kids instead.

What’s your secret for getting projects off your needles?

2 responses »

  1. It turned out fabulous!! And I love that I got to see it in so many stages along the way. We will have to make knitting at playgroup routine. If Pia is any indication, I think you should seize the moment and knit a sweater for Tea NOW, because soon he will be telling you what he will and will not wear. I was able to get Pia to wear the sweater I knit for her a total of one time. And the dress I am still knitting for the 2-year-old Pia, well, she won’t quite fit in that anymore 🙂 Clearly I don’t have the secret to getting items off needles.

    Reply
  2. It’s awesome! And you were so unhappy at the start… I can’t believe you did the crocheted edge. You seriously inspire me to start projects I have no idea how to finish – I’m way too chicken without someone prodding me. You’ll get around to making something for Tea. Maybe you just haven’t hit on the right project yet. Or maybe we both just inherited the worst of Dad’s procrastination / starting too many projects tendencies. But either way, you’ll finish something bigger for him eventually. And then he can give it to his grandkids.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

