RSS Feed

Vegetarian Kitchen Recipe #7

Posted on

Are we on #7? I don’t know anymore. It am a bit behind in my “A Year in a Vegetarian Kitchen” posts. Alas. Will catch up now that… I own the book!!!  Yes, yes, exciting times. My mother-in-law gave me a copy of the cookbook for mother’s day thus saving me from hefty library fines and the embarrassment of having to return it after accidentally dousing it with tomato sauce or something of the like. Now I can douse it all I like with whatever I want! And, more importantly, I can write in it. I adore writing in books. It is one of the simple pleasures in life.

Linguine with Pecan-Arugula Pesto page 42

5 stars and Pia ate two helpings and has asked to make it three times since then (though this might have more to with her love of picking the arugula from the garden).

Pia and I made this together for Mother’s Day (yes, I am that behind on my posts) and despite much internal swearing during the pesto-making process (I have this mini-food processor that was not up to the challenge) and despite having to use walnuts since I didn’t have quite enough pecans this turned out remarkably delicious. And since we planted enough arugula to feed our town we have been able to make this again and again and barely make a dent in our crop.

2 responses »

  1. I love writing in cookbooks also. But I usually search for a pencil because I feel like I’m doing something I shouldn’t.

    This looks SOOOOO good. I can’t wait to try it out here, but I’m going to have to beg some arugula from you first. I didn’t know it was in your garden. YUM!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Giving the kitchen (elf) a workout « Domestic Wormhole

Leave a Reply

