RSS Feed

Pick(nic)-pocket

Posted on

Since I can’t do anything in moderation, I sewed something else before the sewing machine cooled off.  I’ve had this project in the back of my mind for awhile and just hadn’t gotten to  it yet.  My goal was to streamline the packing of picnic lunches, since we eat them often.

I sewed individual place-mats for each person in our house with pockets to hold (thrifted, so we don’t lose the good stuff) silverware and a cloth napkin.  The top folds down a bit so when it’s rolled up nothing falls out.  Ribbons on the sides facilitate tying up the roll.  Ultimately I’d like to make a few extra so we always have a clean set ready to go.  This will keep the dreaded should I pack plastic forks or risk losing our everyday silverware, and which drawer are the napkins in today, and does the likely dirtiness level of our meal-site require a picnic blanket or tablecloth questions at bay as I’m trying to get out the door.

An added bonus is Tea is getting bit by the sewing bug:

“When I’m big, I’m going to take your sewing machine to my house and sew.”

“Which house are you going to live in when you’re big?”

“The neighbor’s house.  Bonny’s.  But you can come and visit me.”

“Where will Bonny and her family live?”

“They can live with the other neighbors.”

Leave a Reply

