RSS Feed

Camp

Posted on

I’ve been without internet access in the north woods of Wisconsin – four generations of our family spent the week at family camp together.  For perhaps 20 years of my life, starting at age 2, we’ve gone together.  I love that my sister and I are continuing the tradition for our kids.

At camp Moon Beach, circa 1983

Tea's cousin Cricket with her proud Great-Grandma

We relished the relaxing break of having someone else prepare our meals and wash our dishes.  We had fun swimming (sometimes 3 times a day) in a clear lake, hiking through woods and bogs, canoeing, sailing, blowing bubbles, toasting marshmallows, star gazing, singing songs, puddle-stomping, square dancing, fishing, playing silly games, eating too much ice cream, and watching eagles, loons, and deer.  Most of all, we enjoyed spending time with our family and our camp family.

Tea sailing with his Granddad

Tea was a mean Pass the Pigs player

Grandma rolled an impossible 100 Pass the Pig points in *one hand*

This was Tea’s second year there, and he really thrived on the chance to interact with other kids and play more independently than last year.  He attended his morning classes without a backwards glance at us.  This is by far the easiest, most relaxing way to vacation with small kids that I can imagine.  There were always kid-friendly choices of things to do and great people to help watch Tea.  And as if that’s not enough, Kyle and I had a wonderful time, too.  At the end of the week, Tea didn’t want to come home.  I didn’t either.

Rachel, my hero, square danced with Tea

Tea and his partner in crime, moments before he got *very* wet

Bubbles on a windy day with 100% humidity

I'm so glad I packed those boots

I’m telling myself that we’re now refreshed, recharged, and ready to face the start of a busy school year (for Kyle, and therefore by extension, for Tea and I), but I still don’t quite feel ready to say goodbye to summer.

Tea played hard and slept even harder

4 responses »

  1. What a fun tradition!! Building great memories!!

    Reply
  2. Cricket and I miss camp already! We’re glad we came, even if we didn’t get any sleep this year. I can’t wait for Cricket to get to experience camp as a kid (instead of being camp baby). If she has half as much fun as Tea, she’s going to have a blast.

    Reply
  3. Your camp looks like SO much fun, no wonder you all don’t want to come home! Such a wonderful tradition for your family as well. You take beautiful pictures too Robin, especially love the one of Tea with bubbles on his nose!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Frogtown, USA « Domestic Wormhole

Leave a Reply

