RSS Feed

Frogtown, USA

Posted on

So Kyle just stepped on a frog.

In our bedroom.

On the second floor of the house.

Lucky for the frog, Kyle was barefoot and the frog doesn’t appear to have sustained any injuries.  Lucky for me, it was Kyle who discovered him.

I think Kyle may have suffered a mild cardiac event, however, as the lights were out and he was on his way to bed when I heard him jump and exclaim, “WHAT did I just step on!??”

Why are the frogs in this neighborhood so careless with their lives?

Now, it would be easy to blame this on the 3-year-old boy in the house, right?  But Tea would take at least 10 minutes to warm up to the prospect of touching a frog, let alone carrying one into the house, and he’s never out of my sight for more than 30 seconds.  Besides, Tea dashed across the hall to get a look at the intruder and I saw no hint of guilt or recognition cross his face.

I can only think of 2 explanations, both equally disconcerting:

  1. The frog came home from camp with us somehow and has been living in the house for more than a week.  How much water do frogs need to survive?  He wouldn’t still be kicking, right?  Because this frog had a LOT of kick during the subsequent Frog Relocation process.  If he’s been here for a week, there’s more frog excrement to discover than what we’ve already found.  I’m going to start wearing shoes in the house.
  2. The frog hitched a ride into the house on the dog.  I’m thinking this is extremely likely.  Punkin likes to water the flowers near the busiest frog population of the yard.  But would a frog really hold on all the way to the second floor?  Would Punkin not notice the huge amphibian clinging to her fur?  If this happened once, it can happen again.  Courtney, are you sure you still want to consider dog-sitting for our frog-toting pooch?

I did not photograph the frog, as it was busy trying to escape by defecating all over whatever I tried corralling it in.  I like frogs, but this guy was gross so I was as frantic as he was.

On a barely related note, in researching whether there actually *is* a Frogtown, I discovered that it’s a neighborhood in St. Paul, MN that sounds great.  We just happen to be heading in that direction soon, and I am soooo going to this deli!  So thank you, little frog, for leading me to wonderful Thai food.

8 responses »

  1. Maybe it has been living off the fibers of your 1990s wardrobe in your attic 🙂 We’d love Punkin no matter how many amphibians she has in her fur, so bring it on! I do need more details, though. Was this like a cute green tree frog? Or more like a lumpy toad? And why are you going to Minnesota? And can you pick lots of things up from Ikea for us when you are there? 🙂

    Reply
    • After looking at the Wisconsin DNR’s “Know your frogs” site (which is quite cool) I think it might have been a Western Chorus frog. He brown, but smooth and slimy, not lumpy and dry.

      http://dnr.wi.gov/org/caer/ce/eek/critter/amphibian/chorus.htm

      Aack, thanks to your comment, I am now picturing Punkin with 87 frogs stuck in her fur all over her body. They are all waving their little frog arms at me and calling. Um, she’s not sleeping on my pillow tonight!

      Reply
  2. Yikes. I’d have a hard time believing it’s been there since camp. They need more water than that. Could it have hitched onto something you carried into the house? Like a bag set down on the back steps while you opened the door?

    Reply
  3. Too funny! What a night. I’m surprised Punkin didn’t find the frog before you guys did!

    Speaking of Frogtown ~ I went to college nearby and we love this Korean Cafe. If you’re trekking around Frogtown, its a great hole-in-the-wall mom/pop restaurant. We heart Korean food tho. Not sure if you’re a fan. Be sure to call first, they’re closed on Tuesdays.

    http://www.yelp.com/biz/sole-cafe-saint-paul

    I’ve never seen that lil Thai place. But University is crammed with so many little restaurants. Let us know if its awesome!

    Reply
    • Thanks for the recommendation. If we’re back there again we may try that Korean place. The Thai Supermarket & Deli? LOVED IT! It was the closest thing to being back in Bangkok we’ve found, both in atmosphere and food.

      Reply
  4. There’s also the Wisconsin Herpetological Atlas Project: http://www4.uwm.edu/fieldstation/herpetology/AtlasFr1.html

    You can see if there are sightings in your area, which for the Chorus frog, would be typical.

    There is also a Report Sightings form: http://www4.uwm.edu/fieldstation/herpetology/report.html

    I worked on this as a summer intern years ago and after entering countless boring records of species names and GPS coordinates, I’m already giggling at the answer to “Describe Exact locality.” : )

    Reply
  5. Pingback: This is starting to get ridiculous « Domestic Wormhole

Leave a Reply

