RSS Feed

kcwc: day 1, this time for real

Okay, I guess I was a little over-eager yesterday, as kids clothes week didn’t actually start until today. But all that mending yesterday enabled me to sew for real today, instead of spending the time cleaning off my table, so, yay!

While Pia was at school I set my mind to sewing an Eddie Cap for her. I can’t say enough good things about this tutorial. First, I am amazed at how Irene was able to figure out how to make a hat. At each step I found myself thinking, this works so well, but there is no way I could have figured out how to do this! And each step was so clear that I never had to stop and decipher what she meant, which means I was able to whip up the cap in just under an hour. Whoo-hoo!

I chose to sew it up in red, Pia’s absolute favorite color, so there was on off chance she would like it. And I built it up, saying “there’s a surprise for you at home” when I picked her up from school. That did the trick as when she found it she was delighted and put it right on. Her poker face here isn’t giving anything away, but I swear she likes it.

7 responses »

  1. Very nice job! It looks very professional. I may try one of those in the future. Thanks for posting a link.

    Reply
  2. I love it! I’m so glad to hear good things about the tutorial, because I wanted to make some fall hats for my kids. The fabric you used looks like it is just the perfect weight for a nice hat.

    Reply
  3. Fabulous!! It looks great! Off to check out the tutorial (and more of your blog)…

    Reply
  4. I just love how it turned out! I hope you’ll link it up Thursday for Make It Wear It!

    Reply
  5. Adorable hat. Adorable girl.

    Reply
  6. Wow that hat is beautiful and done in an hour amazing! I can’t wait to see what else you make.

    Reply
  7. Oh I can tell she loves it!
    This is ADORABLE! You should sell them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

