RSS Feed

is this so wrong?

Posted on

I am an enormous Bruce Springsteen fan. This is not a huge revelation, of course, to those that know me well. But I have tried to keep my obsession deep, deep affection for the man under wraps so that I do not adversely affect Pia’s musical tastes. I have sat through many, many, many listenings of “B-I-N-G-O” and “Who Built the Ark?”, so I have put in my time in the children’s genre. (Ok, ok, full disclosure, I actually love listening to “Who Built the Ark?” because Pia sings along and on the refrain she says “no one” instead of “noah” and this cracks me up to no end.) But in the past two days something remarkable has happened. Pia has discovered Springsteen.

This started innocently enough. Pia loves the song “This Land is Your Land” and we searched on You Tube for a fun version. It just so happens that Pete Seeger and Bruce Springsteen sang a lovely version at President Obama’s inauguration.  So we watched that a few times and, well, we all know how You Tube makes all these connections and you find things you never knew existed. Like Springsteen’s cover of “Twist and Shout”. And you don’t know dancing until you have danced with your 5-year-old to this video. Oh, the smiles. The rollicking good times of this song led to his cover of “I Can’t Help Falling in Love”. Which, well, I mean…. swoon. This song sealed the deal for Pia. She sings along and mimics all his hand motions. She refers to the song not by it’s title, but just as “my favorite”.  The only downer to all of this is that she frowns on me singing along.  I was, sniff, shushed during “Glory Days”.

One response »

  1. This is evidence that you and I are, alas, not truly soul mates. And I hate to tell you this, but when we met with the Thai adoption board, we were asked if we knew of any adopted Thai children who were being subjected to Springsteen’s music. I felt like I needed to tell the truth. I am sorry, but Pia needs protection. She is welcome to take refuge in our Paul Simon-playing home.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

