RSS Feed

The reading raft’s final voyage

Posted on

I haven’t needed to resort to the reading raft for a long time, but today I woke up with a bad headache and a feeling of dread.  I’ve had a lot of “stop” days recently, as Courtney put it, and so the thought of spending a long day stuck inside while not feeling well kicked my (already hurting) brain into gear.  I needed a Plan for all of us to survive the day.

I told Tea we were going to ride on the reading raft, and he asked if he could wear his life jacket.  I said no.  His face fell.  And then I thought, um, why not?  So I said yes and he was much happier.  That bouyed my spirits.  We could do this together.

The books kept Tea quiet and content for awhile (as his bottomless-pit brother ate breakfast for 6 hours).  Then, he decided he needed to fish from the raft.  Hmmm…We brainstormed and made a few fish from construction paper.  I pinned safety pins through their mouths and we tossed them overboard.  I tied a magnet to a drumstick with yarn and Tea was casting his line and waiting for nibbles in no time.

This looked enticing enough to finally lure Pea from his cereal.  He crawled up onto the raft to look at books.

Tea was very proud of his catch.

Without any prompting, he headed off to his kitchen to cook up his fish.  We ate delicious fish soup for lunch.

I would be patting myself on the back right now, except for one minor detail that I’ve omitted.  Despite channeling my inner Christmas Story with repeated warnings that the fishing pole was dangerous if waved about and “the magnet could hit someone in the eye, so be very careful”, the fishing pole was, in a moment of weakness, waved about.  And the magnet did hit an eye…brow.  Thank goodness, only a brow.  There was blood (the magnet is smooth – how did this happen?!), but the wound was small.  Everyone is fine.  And the fishing pole has been disassembled.  I sunk the raft.  I need a new go-to activity for sick days.

What do you do when you’re not feeling well enough to entertain the critters?

8 responses »

  1. You are my hero. The reading raft? The fishing pole? Priceless. And with a cold-mangled head at that. All Pia got during my illness was Clifford on repeat.

    Never mind the blood. Scars through eyebrows are totally cool. Though Pea might need to make up a tougher story than, ‘my brother hit me with a yarn fishing pole when we were riding our reading raft’.

    Reply
  2. Holy moly, I am using this. Minus the magnet at the end of the pole, I guess. I have been trying to figure out how on Earth I will manage being sick as Turtle gets more…mobile. You are a genius!

    I don’t have any better ideas for you. Picnic on the floor? Make a fort with thc couch cushions and kitchen chairs turned over (with a blanket)? That’s what we did when I was growing up.

    Reply
  3. I am so sad that the reading raft failed you yesterday. I was so excited to use that idea on Cricket when she’s older. If you find a safer alternative, please share!

    Reply
  4. Hope you feel better, but it seems that you work well under sinus pressure… Raft and fishing pole? Magical.

    Reply
  5. I have an idea! If the magnet is strong enough put it inside a small stuffed animal (a terrible medical procedure but think of the eyes it would save ) OK, a small inanimate pillow like object! Yes! Then the soft inanimate object could be used as a fish hook and if they swing it around the room (theoretically) no one gets hurt. Maybe the fishing rod could also have bubble wrap end so it isn’t pointy.

    T totally gets a gold star for aquatic safety – a life jacket in the raft was pretty impressive. He sets a good example for the grown-ups!

    Reply
  6. Also Courtney is right. Eyebrow scars are cool. How much did we love Luke Perry…admit it, he was cool!

    Reply
  7. I have an idea! If the magnet is strong enough put it inside a small stuffed animal (a terrible medical procedure but think of the eyes it would save *I’m so conflicted about what I just wrote) OK, a small inanimate pillow like object! Yes! Then the soft inanimate object could be used as a fish hook and if they swing it around the room (theoretically) no one gets hurt. Maybe the fishing rod could also have bubble wrap end so it isn’t pointy.

    T totally gets a gold star for aquatic safety – a life jacket in the raft was pretty impressive. He sets a good example for the grown-ups!

    Reply
  8. Sorry for the multiple comments – I just learned that if you put text inside the greater than less than signs it omits that text and turns everything italic…so i reposted but used the asterisk instead.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

