RSS Feed

happy anniversary to us

Posted on

Jim and I celebrated our 10-year wedding anniversary today. We had talked about various exotic things we could do to commemorate our decade-long union, you know, things like getting a babysitter and going to a movie (wow!) or leaving Pia with my brother’s family and going out to dinner (crazy!). But it ended up being the three of us at home, enjoying an anniversary dinner of fondue by candlelight. And you know, it was oddly delightful and perfect. Pia was in an extra chipper mood and Jim and I were splitting a bottle of wine (thanks Julie!) and we talked as a family like we rarely do. I mean, we eat dinner together as a family every night, but tonight we talked about memories. Jim and I recounted the highlights of our marriage so far (adopting Pia, traveling to Yosemite, demolishing and rebuilding our house together) and it was cool to think about things that I hadn’t thought of in years. Like during the time when we were demolishing our house and we only had two pieces of furniture. Just two chairs which we would collapse into each evening and eat pizza after drywalling and sanding and pulling zillions of staples out of the hardwood floors. At the time it is just life, but now they are sweet memories.

At one point Pia decided to chime in. “I have a memory,” she said. “I was sad and then they gave me chips.” We had recently been looking at pictures of our adoption trip to Thailand and she saw pictures of herself crying, followed by pictures of herself eating chips. I had explained to her that in the orphanage they would often give her chips to calm down. Chips were her love-y, so to speak. After she shared this “memory” I asked her if she was happy now. She said “yes” and skipped over to the rug where she jumped from circle to circle, “because I am at home now!” Oh, the journeys our children take, and the resilience they show. It always, always brings tears to my eyes. Sad and happy tears, but always tears.

I am so blessed to have an amazing husband and an incredible daughter. And I am grateful for the paths that led us here, to this moment.

4 responses »

  1. That’s so great!! Congrats on 10 years of marriage! The Hubs and I reach that in April – isn’t it amazing how quickly it goes by?

    Reply
  2. Pingback: happy anniversary… to the 3 of us « Domestic Wormhole

  3. you’re truly a good webmaster. The website loading speed is
    incredible. It seems that you are doing any distinctive trick.
    Moreover, The contents are masterwork. you’ve performed
    a fantastic task in this topic!

    Reply
  4. It’s actually very complex in this busy life to listen news on TV,
    therefore I only use the web for that purpose, and get the hottest information.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

