RSS Feed

And tonight’s forecast? 3″ of snow

Posted on

The raised beds are finished.  The asparagus, arugula, carrots, snap peas, and garlic are all planted.  A few seedlings in my kitchen are poking out of the dirt.  I made plant markers from some favorite stones.  I spelled arugula incorrectly.  I will pretend this was intentional.

My super-awesome brother-in-law helped transport a piece of cattle fencing yesterday that we’ve turned into an arbor for the veggies to grow on.  The cattle panel is 16′ x 52″.  Kyle drove four 5′ t-posts into the garden and tied the bent fencing to the posts with wire.  The arch is 6′ across at the bottom and I can just reach the top if I’m on tip-toe.  I’ll try to grow some mini-squash and sugar snap peas up one side and let the tomato vines climb up the other.

This is our first attempt at an actual vegetable garden, so we’re not expecting much – we’ll consider this a learning year.  That doesn’t make me any less excited to see what the garden looks like in a few months, however.  I am ready for these seeds to grow!  Come on sun – warm that dirt.  Please.

5 responses »

  1. Awesome trellis idea. And the stones too.. what a great idea. Hope the snow bypasses you! I just got a bunch of my veggies planted too. Y’know.. I always plant arugula, collards, turnips, parsley in November. They don’t mind the cold as much and despite the hard winter, I now have a full spring garden.

    Reply
    • I’m looking forward to planting next fall, too. I realized after ordering garlic that it’s probably too late to put that in now, but oh well. Courtney said her arugula reseeds itself so it just returns each spring, which is awesome. You should put pictures of your garden on your blog – I’d love to see it!

      Reply
  2. jealous. jealous. jealous.

    Reply
  3. You could always ask my parents for advice, they’re a hop, skip, and a jump away! They have a huge green thumb and my mom loves veggie gardening and is always willing to help. And if you need extra muscle, you have two very athletic boys for neighbors too!

    Reply
  4. I have SO had it with the cold. We have had only one day where Lily could go outside without a coat–she had to wear a sweatshirt. Every other day it seems to rain. I long to open the windows and plant flowers, but the constant “hard freeze” warnings are a little off-putting. I am afraid we are going to morph right into 90+ degree days having skipped spring entirely.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

