RSS Feed

butterfly garden status update

Posted on

Oh, to be one of those people who are organized. Someone who could find the slip of paper upon which the results of her extensive google research on seeds was written. Alas. I have searched. And I now have a headache. So this post will be considerably less educational than originally intended.

Over a month ago Pia and I started seeds from a wildflower mix in an attempt to grow plants for the school’s butterfly garden. We asked the kindergarten classes to play along as well and I wonder if they are faring better than us. I hope so. We had originally planned on growing the seeds in a sunny window, but in a laziness-forces-innovation stroke of luck we ended up growing them under lights in the kitchen. (We have a to-do list written on the chalkboard in our kitchen and “#2: Shelf for pots above sink” has been on the list for about three months and hasn’t seen any action. One day I realized there were fluorescent bulbs under our kitchen cabinets and voila! a grow center was created.) Anyway, in the “yay!!” column we have the news that each of the six types of seeds that we planted has sprouted. In the “bit of a bummer” column is the fact that they are getting leggy and looking less and less like robust, healthy little seedlings. It didn’t help that yesterday, when it was warm, I put the seedlings outside for some fresh air and to start the hardening off process. (Note to Robin’s dad: hardening off really is something you do with plants, your daughter isn’t merely coddling her seedlings.) But then I may have left them out all day long and that was a bit much for them. They are still alive, but looking less and less garden worthy.

However, I will not give up! Based on my seed sorting research the plant in the front right is crimson clover and that plant is so gorgeous that I desperately want it to survive. Plus I look forward to singing crimson and clover, over and over.

What say you, kindergarten classes? Are your seeds sprouting up a storm?

One response »

  1. I’d say you’ve still got a fighting chance, not that I know squat about starting things from seeds (except that hardening off of seedlings is required before planting up. Planting out? Planting over? Towards? Drat. See? I know nothing, Dad, but thank you Courtney for coming to my defense.). Anyway, the clover looks the strongest of them all, and if it really grows I will steal it from your garden, because you have lose morals and are therefore in no position to chastise me. =P

    Reply

Leave a Reply

