RSS Feed

teacher gifts

Posted on

My sister and I were in a discussion about what to give our kids’ teachers for the end of the year and somehow I found myself making gifts for her two kids and her friend’s kid. I’m not sure how this happened. I believe there were cake pops involved. Yummy, delicious cake pops. Anyway, I had mentioned what I was making for Pia’s teacher (which has yet to be started) and she liked the idea. Here is the basic concept (for which I take no credit as many people have done this before me): take a child’s drawing, transfer it to fabric, embroider the outline, then make a tote bag out of it. For some reason embroidery floss elevates simple kid drawings to a new level of cuteness. I am not sure why that is.

The first bag features a super cute turtle:

The second bag (for a teacher who likes magic) has a drawing of a magic hat and wand done by my nephew. I lined the bag with red satin to make it seem like the inside of a magician’s cape. And I added little metal gold stars for added pizazz.

And then the time crunch hit. I ran out of time to do the embroidery part of the project so I had my sister scan the drawings and e-mail them to me. Then I printed them out on fabric printer ‘paper’. Here is my nephew’s elephant (for his teacher who loves elephants… I mean, who doesn’t love elephants?). I made this bag a bit smaller so it would be sized right to carry this elephant journal that I got from Thai Village, Inc

…and on the inside I included a series of little pockets for carrying pencils.

Now I just need to get to work on a present for Pia’s unbelievably fabulous teacher. I have four whole days, no rush. 🙂

One response »

  1. Thanks for the Thai Village mention, Courtney!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

