RSS Feed

i sorta want to keep it

Posted on

Tomorrow is the last day of school and I am realizing, for the first time from the parenting perspective, just how heartbreaking it can be. I remember crying buckets of tears at the end of the school year when I was a kid. I fell in love with my teachers and being cut free in June was hard. (This might be a girl thing. Over dinner tonight we were discussing elementary school teachers from our past and I can remember the name and face and personality of all of my teachers. Jim can not name a single teacher from his past. Not one.) Now I am on the parent side and I still don’t want to let go. Pia’s teacher is every shade of wonderful. I want her to be Pia’s teacher forever.

Alas. That wish is not to be. Instead I funneled that wish energy into making her something heartfelt as an end-of-the-year gift. I asked Pia to draw some pictures for her teacher. She drew flowers, a bird, and a butterfly. I also had her draw a heart and write her name. Then I traced the drawings on to a piece of osnaburg fabric and I embroidered the drawings. Osnaburg is my new favorite fabric, thanks to the recommendation from my mom. Such fun. I then sewed the embroidered fabric into a bag, lined it with felt and made an interior perimeter of pockets. I am smitten with the results. Maybe because the drawings are Pia’s. I think I need to make one for myself.

I am going to fill the interior pockets with little things from the fair trade store: a journal, a chocolate bar, an owl paper clip. Of course, all this pales in comparison to how much gratitude I have for her teacher. Which is why tomorrow I will be, once again, crying buckets.

3 responses »

  1. priceless… adorable, thoughtful and oooooh so clever with personalized drawings!

    Reply
  2. Wow! All of the bags are so sweet and personalized! The teachers are going to LOVE them!

    Reply
  3. This is so adorable and clever. I’m sure she adored it. I hope you make one for yourself, too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

