RSS Feed

Wisconsin Sheep and Wool Festival, part 1

Posted on

I stupidly bravely took both boys by myself to the Wisconsin Sheep and Wool Festival last weekend.  It should have been no problem, right?  What 2 and 4 year old wouldn’t love to spend a Saturday looking at lots and lots of yarn?  Right?

It’s hard to believe that I’ve been blogging about Sheep and Wool for five years now.  I attended for the first time in 2006.  I went in 2007 and posted twice.  In 2009 Tea got to experience it for the first time.  Last year Tea went with my mom and sister since I had a date (as much as I love S&W, I love Kyle more).

This was Pea’s first trip to the festival.  The boys tolerated the torture outing at first, as long as there were sheep to look at.

Watching the lambs.

They didn’t care for this ram one bit and didn’t want to turn their back on him.

Jacob the ram. I thought he looked like a Jim Henson creature.

"*Please* don't make me stand here!"

We watched a shearing demonstration.  One of their favorite books is Charlie Needs a Cloak, which outlines the process of wool from a sheep to finished garment.  So they actually were really interested in seeing this.

They also liked watching people spinning.  They were mesmerized watching the wheel turning around and the peddles going up and down.  So was I.  I really need to take a class to learn this.

But display after display after display of yarn (my favorite part) did them in.  We never did quite make it to lunch because one of the boys lost his cool in a rather loud and demonstrative fashion.  I got to carry him the full length of the Jefferson County Fairgrounds back to the car.  Thank goodness the other one held it together or I’d have had to commandeer a saddled sheep to carry them out.

8 responses »

  1. Awesome. So sorry I missed it! I would have liked to go stand around and look at wool and sheep for hours – no, I take it back, it was probably for the best that I stayed in bed. Seriously though, I’m hoping to make it next year. Do you think the boys will have forgotten the torture by then?

    Reply
  2. I didn’t know Wisconsin had a sheep and wool festival! I want to go!–but my child would probably also become enraged looking at many displays of yarn!

    Reply
  3. So many things to comment on here. First, excellent choice of shirt for Pea for this outing. It looks as though he could have been showing one of his prize lambs. Second, way to go on not naming names in terms of the meltdown. Third, perhaps a saddled sheep would have solved all the problems in the first place? Look into using one for the entire festival next time. Fourth, why was I not invited along on this outing? 🙂

    Reply
    • First, he picked it himself. Second, it rhymes with “flea” 😉 . Third, I’m looking into getting one to walk Tea back and forth to school each day. Fourth, I don’t know – good question!

      Reply
  4. Hi Robin,
    How was the yarn selection? Im about three hours away but I was seriously thinking about driving down this year. I will plan on it next year if I know I can get some new fun yarns…….. Please let me know — thanks!
    I really enjoy your blog – I get a ton of good craft ideas from you!

    Reply
    • Thanks so much, Laura.

      I’ve usually had to drag a child through so I don’t get as much browsing time as I’d like, but from what I’ve seen, the yarn selection is pretty good. There are two huge barns full of just products (yarn, wool, spinning wheels, books, etc) and I see a lot of yarns I don’t see at yarn shops, and lots of hand-dyed yarns. I’ve never had a problem finding the perfect yarn for a project there.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

