RSS Feed

Whisker envy

Posted on

Pea got to test out his new Halloween outfit this morning when his dance class was invited to wear their costumes.  Unprepared as usual, I was sewing on the finishing touches 5 minutes before we needed to leave the house, and only as I packed his costume did I realize I didn’t have face paint for his nose and whiskers.  Washable markers to the rescue.

Every week we sneak out of dance class early to drive the 20 minutes to pick up Tea from school.  Since time was short, I threw a raincoat over Pea’s costume and tossed him in the car.  That was my first mistake.

Tea climbed up into the car, overtired from a cold and a field trip, and eyed his brother’s face.  “What’s THAT?”

“Those are the whiskers for your brother’s costume – he wore it to dance today.”

“But I want whiskers too!”

“Your costume has whiskers – don’t worry.  Halloween is coming soon.”

“No, I mean, I want whiskers now.”

“Oh.  Right.  OK.  How about with lunch, then?”

Tea: "I *really* wanted whiskers." Me: "Um, I *gave* you whiskers, goof balll."

Tea: "Oh, that's right. I forgot!"

My second mistake?  The term “washable” apparently does not apply to skin.

2 responses »

  1. That’s fantastic. And here I was thinking how brilliant you were for using washable markers as face paint…

    Reply
  2. I have a recipe for using crisco and food coloring to make face paint, but really, when does food coloring ever come off? Better just run to Walgreens…or dig out an old eye pencil. Or call your local makeup artist 🙂 VERY cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

