RSS Feed

krumkake was made, and no one was hurt

Posted on

Of all the Christmas traditions we have my favorite is the making of the krumkake. This is odd as I really don’t like to cook and try to only go into the kitchen to retrieve a cup of coffee or pour a bowl of cereal. But krumkake is different. Perhaps because it is so ceremonious. First I put on Tracks, disc 1, by Bruce Springsteen and skip ahead to Bishop Danced. Then I clean the kitchen counters and make a lovely working environment for myself. I may even don in apron. I definitely pour a glass of wine. Then I pull out the krumkake iron, a splurge of a purchase made in the early months of our marriage when spending $50 on something as unnecessary as a griddle that you use but once a year was unheard of. I like to say that I’m Norwegian, and technically I am 50%, but really the only Norwegian thing I do is make krumkake. Once a year.

This year Pia wanted to help. I was on the fence about this as a) it is a wicked hot iron, and b) I tend to need a bubble of space around me when I cook, a 10 foot bubble preferably.  But, realizing that my favorite Christmas tradition was one where I was alone (with Bruce) seemed a bit out of sync with the Christmas spirit. So I said yes. And we had a ball. And none of her fingers, hands, elbows or hair got scorched. A Christmas miracle indeed.

Yes, that is my hand in the picture, ready to yank her arm out of the way in case her hand got too close to the iron. A bit overprotective? Perhaps. But there is no faster way to ruin a good Christmas tradition than with a burn injury, no?

3 responses »

  1. I had great intentions of making krumkake before Christmas – got an electric double iron at a yard sale 3 summers ago. Was soooooo excited, My Norwegian blooded friend had come over on deer-hunting weekend about 5 years ago to teach me the art. This was going to be the year. Oh well – maybe for Lent?! At least I can say “Welcome” in Norwegian – thanks to the towns in the area that have “Velkommen” signs!

    Reply
    • Maybe next year we need to plan a krumkake and thai cookie (know any good ones?) making party before Christmas! Think of all the krumkake we could churn out with both of our irons going at once 🙂

      Reply
  2. Pingback: on the norwegian heritage note « Domestic Wormhole

Leave a Reply

